Education & Events

Webinars

webinar

 

The RLS Foundation offers free webinars on topics that are critical to understanding and coping with restless legs syndrome (RLS). Attending a webinar is a great opportunity to share questions and comments with other patients, medical professionals and RLS experts.

Our one-hour webinars include a Question & Answer session after our speaker. Upon registration, please submit your questions on the topic to be answered as time allows.

Upcoming Webinars

What's New in RLS Research

Register Now

Date: Friday, May 11, 2018

Time: 8 am PT | 9 am MT | 10 am CT | 11 am ET

Speaker: Lynn Marie Trotti, MD, MSc

Lynn Marie Trotti, MD, MSc, will discuss what's new and promising in restless legs syndrome research.

Dr. Trotti is an Associate Professor of neurology at Emory University School of Medicine, and is Director of the RLS Quality Care Center at the Emory Sleep Center in Atlanta, Georgia.

 

register

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions and login information about joining the webinar.

RLS and Medical Marijuana Webinar

Register Now

Date: Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Time: 10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET

Speaker: Jacquelyn Bainbridge, PharmD

Jacquelyn Bainbridge, PharmD, will be discussing drug interactions and treatment for RLS with Cannabis, how patients are using Cannabis, and variability in effect depending on how it is consumed.

Bainbridge serves as a clinical pharmacy specialist at the Anschutz Outpatient Pavilion Neurology Clinic, an extension of the Neurology Residency Teaching Program at the University of Colorado Denver. She is also a professor  in the Department of Neurology at the  university's  School of Medicine, and  teaches  at the Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.  

Bainbridge manages patients with neurologic disease states such as epilepsy, Parkinson  disease, multiple sclerosis, migraine  and RLS. She is currently involved in  research projects  funded by the  CDPHE  using marijuana.  In her recent past she has had projects funded by the  NIH,  spanning subjects such as epilepsy, multiple sclerosis and neuroprotection trials in Parkinson  disease.

register

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions and login information about joining the webinar.

Adenosine Webinar-7-2018

Register Now

Date: Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Time: 11 am PT | 12 am MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET

Speaker: Sergi Ferré, MD, PhD

Sergi Ferré, MD, PhD, will be discussing recent experimental studies in an animal model of RLS that suggest that impaired adenosine neurotransmission can play a key pathogenetic role in the hyperdopaminergic and hiperglutamatergic states, which seem to be responsible for the periodic movements of legs during sleep (PLMS) and hyperarousal in RLS.  

Ferré is chief of the Integrative Neurobiology Section at the National Institute on Drug Abuse, IRP, NIH. He has been funded by the Foundation's RLS Research Grant Program, where he researched cortico-striatal transmission in iron-deficient rats as a model for the screening of drugs potentially useful in the treatment of RLS. Ferré's research interests focus on the role of neurotransmitter receptor heteromers as targets for drug development in neuropsychiatric disorders, including substance use disorders. At the Foundation, he serves as a member of the Scientific and Medical Advisory Board. 

 

register

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions and login information about joining the webinar.

 

Triggers webinar

Register Now

Date: Thursday, August 16, 2018

Time: 7 am PT | 8 am MT | 9 am CT | 10 am ET

Speaker: Brian Koo, MD

Brian Koo, MD, will be discussing various triggers that can worsen the symptoms of restless legs syndrome.

Dr. Koo is the director for the Yale Center for Restless Legs Syndrome, an RLS Foundation sponsored RLS Quality Care Center, as well as the chief medical director of Sleep Medicine at the Connecticut Veterans Affairs Healthcare System. Dr. Koo is an assistant professor of neurology at Yale University, and has been an active member of tasks forces and section committees related to the sleep-related movement disorders in the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. At the RLS Foundation, he serves as chair for both the Brain Bank Committee and the Medical Bulletin Committee. Dr. Koo is board certified in both neurology and sleep medicine, and much of his research lies in those categories. His research on RLS and PLMS has included animal modeling, epidemiology and human genetics.

 

register

 

 

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions and login information about joining the webinar.