Advocacy

Advocacy efforts to protect opioids as a viable treatmEnt option

Advocacy WebinarIn December 2017, the RLS Foundation kicked off advocacy efforts to educate the public, regulatory authorities and elected officials in Washington about the appropriate use of opioid therapy for refractory cases of RLS. The Foundation sponsored an educational webinar led by professionals from Health and Medicine Counsel of Washington (HMCW), a government relations organization that works with nonprofit organizations and companies in the healthcare industry. The RLS Foundation has retained HMCW to guide and focus our advocacy efforts on behalf of the RLS community.


With the help of HMCW, we expect to increase awareness among policy makers about the serious nature of RLS, the need for individuals with RLS to have access to opioids when they are the best treatment option, and the need for more funding for research that will help us identify better treatments and a find cure for RLS.

Ready to take action now? Email Peter Herzog (herzog@hmcw.org) at the Health and Medicine Counsel of Washington.

hMCW will provide direction on how to:

  • Personalize letters to your members of Congress
  • Visit local congressional offices with others
  • Participate in briefings and meetings on Capitol Hill

We will continue to update this page with materials and ways you can participate to keep opioids as a viable option for managing refractory RLS.

Upcoming Events

April Advocacy Webinar

Register Now

Date: Monday, April 16, 2018

Time: 11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET

Speaker: Dane Christiansen, MBA

Dane Christiansen, MBA, of the Health and Medical Counsel of Washington will be highlighting updates in current legislation involving opioids, and discussing opportunities for how you can get involved in Congressional outreach on behalf of the RLS community.

Mr. Christiansen is Vice President of the Health and Medicine Counsel of Washington where he was worked in government relations since 2004. He specializes in advancing medical research, treatment development, and patient access related policy goals for communities impacted by rare, chronic, and life-threatening medical conditions. He has a background in grassroots organizing and healthcare advocacy, as well as a detailed understanding of the federal budget and appropriations process.

register

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions and login information about joining the webinar.